Foresight Sports QuadMAX vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why Foresight Sports QuadMAX is better
- Measured club data: 5 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 4) (5 vs 4)
- Battery life: 3 hours longer battery (7 vs 4)
- Weight: 2.7 lb lighter (6.3 vs 9)
Why Garmin Approach R50 is better
- Price: $15,499 cheaper (4499.99 vs 19999)
- 3-year cost: $15,199 cheaper over three years (4799.96 vs 19999)
Specs Comparison
Foresight Sports QuadMAX $19,999 vs Garmin Approach R50 $4,500
| Specification | Foresight Sports QuadMAX $19,999 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $19,999 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | — | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | — | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | — | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Measured | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 10 |
| Hitting zone | 18 x 14 in (same as GCQuad per Foresight's comparison table) | — |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | — | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | — | No |
| FSX Play support | Native | No |
| First-party software | FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included) | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | — | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | FSX Play + FSX 2020 + FSX Pro Performance Software + Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 golf courses (10 on both platforms, 15 FSX Play only) AND Essential Putting Analysis included in the box - on the GCQuad putting analysis is a +$2,500 add-on. GSPro is official but requires an FSX 2020 or FSX Play license (GSPro lists it as 'Foresight GCQuad Max') and purchase through Foresight's site (~$250/yr to GSPro). Current promo adds a Bushnell Pro X3+LINK rangefinder, shipped separately. | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Fully enabled out of the box with zero recurring costs: Clubhead Measurement, Essential Putting Analysis and the complete FSX software suite with 25 courses all ship in the box; no subscription is stated anywhere on Foresight's listing (2026-09-14), consistent with PlayBetter's 'no annual subscriptions' verdict for the GCQuad platform. | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | — | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C, Ethernet | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 6.3 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 12.5 x 7 x 4 in (H x W x D) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 7 | 4 |
| Removable battery | ✓ Yes | — |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Battery or mains |
| Alignment | Manual target line | — |
| In the box | QuadMAX carry bag, power adapter & cable, USB-C cable, alignment stick, club markers, Bushnell Pro X3+LINK rangefinder (current promo, ships separately) | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 24 | 12 |
Buy the Foresight Sports QuadMAX
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
Foresight Sports QuadMAX Foresight Sports
Full specs & prices Garmin Approach R50 Garmin
Full specs & prices
More ways to decide
Best Launch Monitors With Club Data Ranked picks by use case Best Launch Monitors for GSPro Ranked picks by use case Foresight Sports QuadMAX vs Foresight Sports GCQuad Foresight Sports vs Foresight Sports Garmin Approach R50 vs Garmin Approach R10 Garmin vs Garmin Garmin Approach R50 vs Bushnell Launch Pro Garmin vs Bushnell