Full Swing KIT vs Garmin Approach R10
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why Full Swing KIT is better
- Accuracy tier: Simulator-grade accuracy class (Simulator-grade vs Game-improvement)
- Spin measurement: Radar-measured spin (Radar-measured spin vs Estimated spin)
- Measured ball data: 7 of 9 ball metrics measured (vs 3) (7 vs 3)
- Measured club data: 4 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 1) (4 vs 1)
Why Garmin Approach R10 is better
- Price: $4,499 cheaper (499.99 vs 4999)
- 3-year cost: $4,499 cheaper over three years (799.96 vs 5298.97)
- Sim software: 3 more sim titles supported (4 vs 1)
- Battery life: 5 hours longer battery (10 vs 5)
- Weight: 3.67 lb lighter (0.33 vs 4)
Specs Comparison
Full Swing KIT $4,999 vs Garmin Approach R10 $500
| Specification | Full Swing KIT $4,999 | Garmin Approach R10 $500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,999 | $500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar (any ball) | Estimated |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Titleist RCT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 16 | 14 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Calculated |
| Spin axis | Measured | Calculated |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Calculated |
| Club path | Measured | Calculated |
| Face angle | Measured | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | — |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 8 | 6 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 8 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | — | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Full Swing Golf for KIT (KIT Studio PC packages only, 15 courses) | Garmin Home Tee Hero |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | Free Full Swing app includes 'indoor virtual gameplay options... including simulations across 100+ courses and mini-games' (PlayBetter listing, 2026-09-14). The full first-party sim, Full Swing Golf for KIT (15 courses incl. Spyglass Hill and PGA TOUR stops), is sold only inside KIT Studio turnkey PC packages from $9,500 with its own subscription - it cannot be bought for a self-built PC. GSPro (Windows, ~$250/yr to GSPro) connects officially with no Full Swing subscription requirement noted on GSPro's device list. | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 16 club and ball metrics, the built-in display, swing-video replay and third-party sim connection (GSPro) work with the free app - 'no data paywalled; app and camera free' and the official FAQ says the 16 metrics come with 'no unlock needed'. Premium ($99.99/yr) only adds historic data, unlimited video storage, improvement tracking/analysis and data sharing (PlayBetter review, updated 2025-06). | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free Premium trial | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | Garmin watch |
| Built-in display | — | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 4 | 0.33 |
| Dimensions (in) | 10.23 x 6.57 x 2.32 in (3.74 in with support leg extended) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 10 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | Micro-USB |
| Alignment | App-guided | App-guided |
| In the box | Full Swing KIT launch monitor, protective travel case, charging block, USB-C charging cable | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | — |
Buy the Full Swing KIT
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Best Portable Launch Monitors Ranked picks by use case Best Launch Monitors With No Subscription Ranked picks by use case Full Swing KIT vs FlightScope Mevo+ Full Swing vs FlightScope Full Swing KIT vs Foresight Sports GC3 Full Swing vs Foresight Sports Garmin Approach R10 vs Garmin Approach R50 Garmin vs Garmin