Garmin Approach G82 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why Garmin Approach G82 is better
- Subscription: No subscription needed for full function (Not required vs Required)
- 3-year cost: $300 cheaper over three years (899.96 vs 1199.95)
- Battery life: 4 hours longer battery (8 vs 4)
- Built-in display: Built-in touchscreen (color_touchscreen vs none)
Why Rapsodo MLM2PRO is better
- Price: $0 cheaper (599.98 vs 599.99)
- Accuracy tier: Game-improvement accuracy class (Game-improvement vs Entry-level)
- Spin measurement: Measured spin (with marked balls) (Measured spin (with marked balls) vs No spin data)
- Measured ball data: 5 of 9 ball metrics measured (vs 1) (5 vs 1)
- Measured club data: 3 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 1) (3 vs 1)
- Club data access: Club data available (paid) (subscription_required vs not_available)
- GSPro support: GSPro: supported (vendor sub required) (Supported (vendor sub required) vs No)
- Sim software: 3 more sim titles supported (3 vs 0)
Specs Comparison
Garmin Approach G82 $600 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600
| Specification | Garmin Approach G82 $600 | Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $600 | $600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | — | Single Doppler |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | — | 240 |
| Spin measurement | Not reported | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Not required | Rapsodo RPT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Entry-level | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | — | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Measured |
| Spin rate | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Not reported | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Subscription required ($200/yr) |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | — | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | — | 6.5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 14 |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| E6 Connect support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | Rapsodo Courses (30,000+ simulated courses + 2 virtual ranges, Premium) |
| Sim software | — | E6 Apex |
| Included sim content | — | 45-day Premium trial included with purchase. Plugged In Golf (2023-12) recorded an included E6 Connect code unlocking five courses and a short Awesome Golf trial - re-verify current bundle contents before quoting; not shown on the 2026-09-14 official page. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $200/yr |
| Works without subscription | GPS (43,000+ preloaded courses), radar metrics, putting metrics, Virtual Caddie and scoring all work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership adds aerial imagery and green contour data. | Official membership page (2026-09-14): the device works without Premium, but 'speed training, club data and full-course access require premium membership'. Premium gates the 15-metric set (incl. spin rate/axis, club path, angle of attack), Rapsodo Courses, third-party sim access (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf), Impact Vision, R-Cloud 10K shot library, R-Speed, and Combine. |
| Subscription trial | — | 45-day Premium trial ('The free trial of the MLM2PRO Premium Membership is 45 days'; auto-renews unless cancelled via R-Cloud) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | — |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.68 | — |
| Battery life (hours) | 8 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| In the box | — | MLM2PRO unit, tripod, carrying case, USB-C charging cable, RPT 3-ball sleeve (Titleist Pro V1 or Callaway Chrome Tour), quick start guide, 45-day Premium trial |
Buy the Garmin Approach G82
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.