Skip to content

Garmin Approach R10 vs SkyTrak+

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

SkyTrak+

SkyTrak+

SkyTrak

$1,195

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people at $695 less, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.

Garmin Approach R10 at Amazon· $486 Prefer the SkyTrak+? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Garmin Approach R10 and SkyTrak+ sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.

Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…

  • You want to spend $695 less ($500 vs $1,195)
  • You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak+ needs $600/yr for full features
  • You play GSPro — the SkyTrak+ officially dropped it
  • You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)

Buy the SkyTrak+ if…

  • You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R10's game-improvement class)
  • You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data
  • You want real measured club data (3 of 5 club metrics measured vs 1)

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R10 $500 SkyTrak+ $1,195
Price
Price $500 $1,195
Measurement
Tracking technology Doppler radar Radar + camera fusion
Radar type Single Doppler Dual Doppler
Spin measurement Estimated Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Titleist RCT balls Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Simulator-grade
Data points per shot 14
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Calculated Measured
Spin axis Calculated Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Calculated Not reported
Club path Calculated Measured
Face angle Calculated Measured
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor
Placement Behind the ball Beside the ball
Setback (ft) 6
Min ball flight (ft) 8
Lefty / righty No repositioning
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported Dropped (legacy users only)
E6 Connect support Native Dropped (legacy users only)
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support Supported Dropped (legacy users only)
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Garmin Home Tee Hero SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025)
Sim software Creative Golf 3D
Included sim content Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr $600/yr
Works without subscription All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan.
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Android, Windows
Watch app Garmin watch
Built-in display None
Screen mirroring Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast)
Connectivity Bluetooth WiFi, USB-C
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 0.33
Dimensions (in) 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0
Battery life (hours) 10
Power source Rechargeable battery Rechargeable battery
Charging port Micro-USB USB-C
Alignment App-guided
In the box Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable

Buy the Garmin Approach R10

Buy the SkyTrak+

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R10 vs SkyTrak+: FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak+?

The SkyTrak+ is newer, released in 2023, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.

Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak+?

The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the SkyTrak+ costs $1,195, making the Garmin Approach R10 $695 cheaper.

Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak+ need a subscription?

The SkyTrak+ needs a subscription for full function ($600/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R10 works fully without one.

Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak+?

The SkyTrak+ has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The SkyTrak+ measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the SkyTrak+?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($695 cheaper) while the SkyTrak+ leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).