SkyTrak (original) vs Square Golf Omni
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Omni is the better buy for most people.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
SkyTrak (original) and Square Golf Omni sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the SkyTrak if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the SkyTrak over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Buy the Square Golf Omni if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak | Square Golf Omni $1,600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | — | $1,600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | — |
| Data points per shot | — | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Calculated | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Face to path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Hitting zone | — | 10 x 10 in ready zone; ball must sit in the front half (~5 in depth) for club data (Golf Simulator Videos review) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | — | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) | Square Golf built-in simulator (credit-based course play; 1,000 free credits included) |
| Included sim content | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. | Built-in simulator with multiple courses and 1,000 free credits included (pay-per-play credits after); third-party sim connectivity carries no extra cost from Square (PlayBetter FAQ). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | From $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). | No annual subscription: full ball + club data, built-in display, and third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf) at no extra cost from Square. Built-in simulator course play uses a credit system (1,000 credits included, pay-and-play after). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | — | LCD readout |
| Connectivity | WiFi | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Dimensions (in) | — | 2.8 (W) x 2.4 (D) x 14.2 (H) in with tripod |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 6 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| In the box | — | launch monitor, tripod stand, Li-ion battery, charger and cables, target line alignment stick, shaft stickers, clubface stickers |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | — |
SkyTrak (original) availability
Buy the Square Golf Omni
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.