Bushnell Launch Pro vs SkyTrak ST MAX
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the SkyTrak ST MAX is the better buy for most people at $1,305 less, unless you need the cheaper subscription.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Bushnell Launch Pro and SkyTrak ST MAX sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Bushnell Launch Pro if…
- You want the cheaper subscription ($499/yr vs $600/yr for full features)
- You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the SkyTrak ST MAX's simulator-grade class)
- You play GSPro (via the vendor's subscription) — the SkyTrak ST MAX has no path to it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX if…
- You want to spend $1,305 less ($1,695 vs $3,000)
- You want club data included — the Bushnell Launch Pro needs a $199/yr subscription for it
- You want the lighter carry (1.7 lb vs 5 lb)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Bushnell Launch Pro $3,000 | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $3,000 | $1,695 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | None | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Tour-grade | Simulator-grade |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | — |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Subscription required ($199/yr) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 12 |
| Min room width (ft) | — | 12 |
| Ceiling height (ft) | — | 9 |
| Hitting zone | 7 x 10 in (ball only and ball + club, bushnellgolf.com) | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported (vendor sub required) | No |
| E6 Connect support | No | No |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported (vendor sub required) | — |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | Supported (vendor sub required) | No |
| First-party software | FSX Play / FSX Pro / FSX 2020 / PinSeeker (Foresight software stack via Silver/Gold subscription) | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) |
| Included sim content | FSX Play requires Silver (5 courses) or Gold (25 courses + FSX 2020); GSPro requires Gold PLUS GSPro's own $250/yr license bought through Foresight ('All users must have a GOLD level subscription' - gsprogolf.com), about $750/yr all-in. Third-party sim support in general is Gold-gated (Breaking Eighty). E6 Connect: 'there's no e6 Connect support' (Breaking Eighty, Jun 2026). Awesome Golf advertises 'NOW AVAILABLE ON FORESIGHT & BUSHNELL' (brand-level claim, awesome-golf.com; Gold gating applies - model-level confirmation flagged for audit). TGC2019 is not offered for Foresight/Bushnell hardware on its retail listing and is absent from Bushnell's supported-software list. 14-day free Gold trial in the box. | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $499/yr | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | 'Ball data works right out of the box on the device's built-in screen with no subscription' (Breaking Eighty) - all 13 listed ball metrics, but limited app access, no club data (the club screen shows '—'), and no sim software. | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. |
| Subscription trial | 14-day free trial of the Gold subscription included with purchase | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS |
| Watch app | — | None |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet | WiFi, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 5 | 1.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | 5 L x 6 W x 12 H in | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 4 |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| Alignment | Manual target line | Manual target line |
| In the box | Launch Pro device, USB-C cable, Ethernet cable, alignment stick, power cord, club marker pack | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 6 |
Buy the Bushnell Launch Pro
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Bushnell Launch Pro vs SkyTrak ST MAX: FAQs
Which is newer: the Bushnell Launch Pro or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The SkyTrak ST MAX is newer, released in 2025, versus 2021 for the Bushnell Launch Pro.
Which is cheaper: the Bushnell Launch Pro or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The Bushnell Launch Pro costs $3,000 and the SkyTrak ST MAX costs $1,695, making the SkyTrak ST MAX $1,305 cheaper.
Does the Bushnell Launch Pro or the SkyTrak ST MAX need a subscription?
Both do: the Bushnell Launch Pro ($499/yr for full features) and the SkyTrak ST MAX ($600/yr for full features) each need a subscription for full function.
What is the main difference between the Bushnell Launch Pro and the SkyTrak ST MAX?
Based on recorded specs, the Bushnell Launch Pro leads on subscription cost ($101/yr cheaper subscription) while the SkyTrak ST MAX leads on price ($1,305 cheaper).