Skip to content

Foresight Sports GC3 vs SkyTrak (original)

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

Foresight Sports GC3

Foresight Sports GC3

Foresight Sports

$6,999

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Foresight Sports GC3 is the better buy for most people.

Foresight Sports GC3 at Foresight Sports Store· $6,999 Prefer the SkyTrak? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Cross-budget question buyers ask when deciding whether to step up from the SkyTrak (original) toward the Foresight GC3.

Buy the Foresight Sports GC3 if…

  • You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
  • You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the SkyTrak's simulator-grade class)
  • You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
  • You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it

Buy the SkyTrak if…

On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the SkyTrak over its rival here — compare the full table below.

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Foresight Sports GC3 $6,999 SkyTrak
Price
Price $6,999
Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera) Photometric (camera)
Radar type None None
Spin measurement Optical (any ball) Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required Not required
Accuracy tier Tour-grade Simulator-grade
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Measured Measured
Spin axis Measured Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Calculated
Attack angle Measured Not reported
Club path Measured Not reported
Face angle Not reported Not reported
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Not available
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Beside the ball Beside the ball
Hitting zone 7 x 10 in (vs 14 x 18 in on GCQuad - PlayBetter GCQuad 2026 review)
Lefty / righty Repositioning required Repositioning required
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported No
E6 Connect support Dropped (legacy users only)
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support Dropped (legacy users only)
FSX Play support Native No
First-party software FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included) SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages)
Included sim content FSX Play + FSX 2020 + FSX Pro Performance Software + Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 golf courses included (15 FSX Play only); unit ships fully unlocked (ball + club data). A la carte FSX courses $150-$500 each, owned for life. GSPro is official but requires a valid FSX Play/FSX 2020 license and purchase through Foresight's site (~$250/yr to GSPro). Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) None From $100/yr
Works without subscription Fully enabled out of the box: every unit now ships with ball AND club data, built-in touchscreen, and the FSX software suite with 25 courses - 'there are no subscriptions' (PlayBetter 2026 review). The $3,799 GC3S is the separate subscription-gated variant. Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator).
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android, Windows iOS, Windows
Built-in display Color touchscreen
Connectivity WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet WiFi
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 5
Dimensions (in) 6 x 5 x 12 in
Battery life (hours) 5 5
Power source Battery or mains Rechargeable battery
Alignment Manual target line
In the box GC3 sling bag, power adapter & cable, USB-C cable, alignment stick, club markers
Warranty
Warranty (months) 24 6

Buy the Foresight Sports GC3

SkyTrak (original) availability

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Foresight Sports GC3 vs SkyTrak (original): FAQs

Which is newer: the Foresight Sports GC3 or the SkyTrak (original)?

The Foresight Sports GC3 is newer, released in 2021, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).

Does the Foresight Sports GC3 or the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?

The SkyTrak (original) needs a subscription for full function, while the Foresight Sports GC3 works fully without one.