Skip to content

Garmin Approach R50 vs Uneekor EYE MINI

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

Uneekor EYE MINI

Uneekor EYE MINI

Uneekor

$2,999

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Uneekor EYE MINI is the better buy for most people at $1,501 less, unless you want a no-subscription setup.

Uneekor EYE MINI at Amazon· $2,999 Prefer the Garmin Approach R50? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Garmin Approach R50 and Uneekor EYE MINI sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.

Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…

  • You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Uneekor EYE MINI needs $599/yr for full features
  • You play GSPro without another subscription — the Uneekor EYE MINI needs its vendor's $599/yr plan just to connect

Buy the Uneekor EYE MINI if…

  • You want to spend $1,501 less ($2,999 vs $4,500)
  • You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 Uneekor EYE MINI $2,999
Price
Price $4,500 $2,999
Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera) Photometric (camera)
Radar type None None
Spin measurement Optical (any ball) Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Simulator-grade
Data points per shot 16 19
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Measured Measured
Spin axis Measured Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Not reported Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Measured Measured
Club path Measured Measured
Face angle Measured Not reported
Face to path Calculated Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Beside the ball Beside the ball
Min ball flight (ft) 10
Hitting zone 12 x 8 in
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported Supported (vendor sub required)
E6 Connect support Supported Supported (vendor sub required)
Awesome Golf support Supported No
TGC 2019 support No Supported (vendor sub required)
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) Uneekor Refine / Refine+ courses and GAMEDAY (Uneekor subscription tiers); VIEW virtual driving range free
Sim software [object Object] [object Object], [object Object]
Included sim content Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). Free 3-month Ultimate package with purchase (Refine+ 20 courses, GAMEDAY, AI Trainer); third-party connector (GSPro, E6 Connect, TGC 2019, Creative Golf 3D, ProTee Play) unlocks at the Pro tier ($199/yr).
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr $599/yr
Works without subscription All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. Free Player package (forever): all 19 ball/club data points, virtual driving range, 100 Power U reports, 1 profile. No course play and no third-party sim connector without a paid tier.
Subscription trial 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) 3-month Ultimate package included with purchase
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Android, Windows
Built-in display Color touchscreen LCD readout
Screen mirroring HDMI out
Connectivity WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C WiFi, Ethernet
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 9 7.9
Dimensions (in) 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) 15.8 H x 6.5 W x 6.6 L in
Battery life (hours) 4 5
Power source Battery or mains Rechargeable battery
Alignment Manual target line
In the box Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter EYE MINI unit, carrying case with strap, quick start guide, 9 ft power cable with adapter, CAT6 ethernet cable, alignment rod, tweezers, club stickers (x1280)
Warranty
Warranty (months) 12

Buy the Garmin Approach R50

Buy the Uneekor EYE MINI

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R50 vs Uneekor EYE MINI: FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Uneekor EYE MINI?

The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2022 for the Uneekor EYE MINI.

Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Uneekor EYE MINI?

The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 and the Uneekor EYE MINI costs $2,999, making the Uneekor EYE MINI $1,501 cheaper.

Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the Uneekor EYE MINI need a subscription?

The Uneekor EYE MINI needs a subscription for full function ($599/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without one.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the Uneekor EYE MINI?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function) while the Uneekor EYE MINI leads on price ($1,501 cheaper).