At a glance
- Tracking tech
- Doppler radar
- Accuracy tier
- Entry-level
- Spin measurement
- Not reported
- Subscription
- None
- Battery
- 5 hr
- Weight
- 0.29 lb
- True standalone operation: no app, account, pairing or subscription
- Golf Monthly: 'a well-executed launch monitor that can prove an influential practice companion'
- Speed only: launch angle, direction, spin and apex are not reported
- Distances are estimates calculated from speed
GolfBuddy Shot Mate
GolfBuddy
$180
Where to buy — GolfBuddy site- Tracking tech
- Doppler radar
- Accuracy tier
- Entry-level
- Subscription
- None
The GolfBuddy Shot Mate is a pocket-sized Doppler practice radar priced at $179.99. It is fully standalone - no app, no Bluetooth, no account, no subscription - showing club speed, ball speed, smash factor and estimated distances on its built-in display, with storage for 1,000 swings and a USB-C rechargeable battery. It measures club and ball speed only: launch angle, direction and spin are not reported, distances are calculated rather than flight-tracked, and it has no simulator connectivity. Golf Monthly calls it 'a well-executed launch monitor that can prove an influential practice companion.'
Pros & cons
Pros
- True standalone operation: no app, account, pairing or subscription
- Golf Monthly: 'a well-executed launch monitor that can prove an influential practice companion'
- 1,000-swing onboard storage with USB-C charging
- Pocketable at 0.29 lb; works for lefties and righties without repositioning
Cons
- Speed only: launch angle, direction, spin and apex are not reported
- Distances are estimates calculated from speed
- No simulator connectivity of any kind
- Short 5-hour battery
Full specifications
| Measurement | |
|---|---|
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Not reported |
| Marked balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Entry-level |
| Not published: Camera frame rate, Data points per shot | |
| Ball data | |
| Ball speed | Measured |
| Launch angle | Not reported |
| Launch direction | Not reported |
| Spin rate | Not reported |
| Spin axis | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated |
| Apex height | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Not reported |
| Club data | |
| Club speed | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported |
| Club path | Not reported |
| Face angle | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available |
| Not published: Face to path, Dynamic loft | |
| Space & environment | |
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 4.9 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) |
| Not published: Min ball flight, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height, Hitting zone | |
| Sim software | |
| Simulator capable | ✕ No |
| GSPro support | No |
| E6 Connect support | No |
| Awesome Golf support | No |
| TGC 2019 support | No |
| FSX Play support | No |
| First-party software | none |
| Not published: Sim software, Included sim content | |
| Subscription | |
| Subscription (per year) | None |
| Works without subscription | Fully functional out of the box: all readings on the built-in auto-brightness display, 1,000-swing storage, golf and practice-swing modes. Marketed as 'subscription-free'; no app, no account, no phone pairing exists for this device. |
| Not published: Subscription trial | |
| Connectivity & apps | |
| Apps | None recorded |
| Watch app | None |
| Built-in display | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | None |
| Connectivity | None recorded |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | |
| Weight (lb) | 0.29 |
| Dimensions (in) | 4.4 x 3.0 x 1.0 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C |
| Alignment | Manual target line |
| In the box | USB Type-C charging cable, user guide, warranty card |
| Not published: Removable battery | |
Where to buy
GolfBuddy Shot Mate specs: quick answers
- What kind of launch monitor is the GolfBuddy Shot Mate?
- The GolfBuddy Shot Mate is a doppler radar launch monitor by GolfBuddy.
- How much does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate cost?
- The GolfBuddy Shot Mate costs $180.
- Does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate need a subscription?
- No — the GolfBuddy Shot Mate has no subscription at all.
- How accurate is the GolfBuddy Shot Mate?
- Across cited third-party reviews, the GolfBuddy Shot Mate sits in the entry-level accuracy class.
- Does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate measure spin?
- The GolfBuddy Shot Mate does not report spin.
- What does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate actually measure?
- By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the GolfBuddy Shot Mate genuinely measures 1 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 1 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
- How much space does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate need?
- Per the manufacturer's published minimums, the GolfBuddy Shot Mate needs 4.9 ft behind the ball.
- Can the GolfBuddy Shot Mate run a golf simulator?
- No — the GolfBuddy Shot Mate is a practice device and does not drive simulator software, per its recorded specifications.
- How long does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate's battery last?
- The GolfBuddy Shot Mate is rated for about 5 hours of battery life.
GolfBuddy Shot Mate: FAQs
How much does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate cost?
The GolfBuddy Shot Mate costs $180 (USD).
Does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate need a subscription?
No — the GolfBuddy Shot Mate has no subscription at all, per its recorded subscription model.
How does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate measure spin?
The GolfBuddy Shot Mate does not report spin, per its recorded specifications.
How much room does the GolfBuddy Shot Mate need?
Per the manufacturer's published minimums, the GolfBuddy Shot Mate needs 4.9 ft of space behind the ball.
What golf simulator software works with the GolfBuddy Shot Mate?
It also runs none, the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.
How long does the battery last on the GolfBuddy Shot Mate?
The GolfBuddy Shot Mate has a claimed battery life of 5 hours.
Can you use the GolfBuddy Shot Mate indoors and outdoors?
Yes — the GolfBuddy Shot Mate is rated for both indoor and outdoor use.
Is the GolfBuddy Shot Mate worth it?
The GolfBuddy Shot Mate is priced at $180 (USD). For that you get entry-level accuracy (cited consensus class), 1 of 9 ball metrics genuinely measured, and 1 of 5 club metrics measured. The full spec breakdown on this page shows what the price includes.
Ranked in these buying guides
Where the GolfBuddy Shot Mate lands in our recorded-spec rankings.
- Best Golf Launch Monitors 2026
- Best Portable Launch Monitors
- Best Budget Golf Launch Monitors
- Best Golf Launch Monitors Under $500
- Best Golf Launch Monitors Under $1,000
- Best Golf Launch Monitors Under $2,000
- Best Indoor Golf Launch Monitors
- Best Launch Monitors With No Subscription
- Best Launch Monitors for the Driving Range
Related Comparisons
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Shot Scope LM1
Shot Scope
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)
PRGR
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Rapsodo MLM (original)
Rapsodo
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i
Voice Caddie
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs FlightScope Mevo (original)
FlightScope
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4
Voice Caddie
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro
Voice Caddie
GolfBuddy Shot Mate vs Garmin Approach G82
Garmin